7 Great Automatic Curling Iron Reviews To Help You Find The Best One

Last Updated:July 25, 2020

For some, the rotating action of an automatic curling iron is nothing more than a novelty feature, one that’s nice to have but it’s not truly essential. Personally, I like to have a static curler as well as a rotating curler in my kit because there are days when the latter is so handy to have. I’m talking about frenetic mornings when I barely have time to get ready much more curl my hair!

Bouncy, bodacious, and beautiful curls are nice to have but building these curls when you’re half-awake at the break of dawn takes serious commitment! An automatic curling iron makes hair styling so much easier because it practically does all the work for you! You can create the natural curls you want without much effort at all.

A quick search on Amazon and you’re presented with so many different types of automatic curling iron tools! But which one is right for your hair type? In this guide, we have scoured the internet for some of the bestselling, highest rated rotating curlers. 

We’ve road tested these 7 automatic hair curlers to help you find the best hot tool for your styling needs.

We’ve read all the Amazon reviews and picked the ones that are easiest to use so each of the automatic hair curler will appeal to newbies and styling pros alike!

The Best Automatic Curling Iron Reviews 

1. BaBylissPRO MiraCurl Nano Titanium Professional

BaBylissPRO Nano Titanium MiraCurl Professional Curl Machine
$99.99
  • 4 timer settings: for different curl effects
  • 3-direction curl control: right, left, alternate
  • 3 heat settings: 450°F, 410°F, 375°F
  • Instant heat-up and recovery – consistent and efficient styling
  • MaxLife PRO brushless motor – precision curling control and long life
  • Smart Tech safeguard and energy saver


Buy from Amazon Buy from
10/21/2020 03:00 pm UTC

You simply cannot talk about automatic curling irons without thinking about the BaBylissPRO MiraCurl Nano Titanium Professional. This is hands down, one of the best automatic curling wands out there, and for good reasons (our in-depth review here).

The MiraCurl automatic hair curler does look intimidating but it’s surprisingly easy to use. It’s also one of its kind so you’re getting something that’s totally unique on the market. According to its Amazon listing, this model features a brushless motor that create frizz-free curls efficiently without snagging or hair breakage.

To use the MiraCurl, divide your hair into sections and feed a hair section into the nano titanium curl chamber. As the hair enters the chamber,  the MiraCurl “catches” the hair and the device does the rest. Pretty easy, right? The best part? You get shiny, full-bodied, beautiful curls that last virtually all day.

The MiraCurl comes with three style options to choose from: loose waves, soft swirls, or defined curls. With just a press of a button, choose the hairstyle you like and let the MiraCurl take care of the rest. The curler offers variable heat settings and multi rotation directions. It could heat up to 450-degrees Fahrenheit. It’s perfect for people with fine hair and coarse tresses alike. 

This device also boasts a steam technology that imparts moisture to every hair strand, stroke after stroke! The steam tech is aimed at people who style their hair daily. My hair is quite dry because I curl my hair on a semi-regular basis so I could use the moisture boost. The steam tech is a nice touch, my hair never feels parched, brittle, or weak when I use the MiraCurl. The steam tech also adds 20% definition to the curls along with a long-lasting, 24-hour hold! The steam action works automatically so you don’t have to tinker with any buttons.

Regardless if you are a newbie looking for his or her first automatic curling iron or a seasoned pro who wants to complete his or her kit, the MiraCurl is one of the best hot tools to get. It offers dependable performance and consistent results. The curls last a long time too, perfect for events when you have to look your best the entire time. According to reviews, styling is fast and easy. You’ll finish a full head of hair in just minutes with this curling iron. 

The only downsides are the size, which is quite bulky for travel. But considering the technology and innovative features that this device offers, I say the price is just right and it’s worth the purchase. 

We liked

  • 24-hour curl hold
  • 3-direction curl control
  • 4-timer settings
  • 3 Heat settings for all hair types
  • Nano titanium curl chamber
  • Instant Heat up and Recovery

We didn’t like

  • Bulkier than other curlers

2. Infiniti Pro by Conair Curl Secret

INFINITIPRO BY CONAIR Curl Secret
$49.99
  • Tourmaline Ceramic Technology
  • Groundbreaking Brushless Design
  • Tangle-Free Technology
  • Fully automated hair curling
  • Heats up to 400°F


Buy from Amazon Buy from
10/21/2020 08:00 pm UTC

The Infiniti Pro by Conair automatic hair curler is similar in design and features as the MiraCurl but it’s much more affordable. This model also comes with a brushless motor that create the perfect curls quickly and efficiently. The Infiniti Pro by Conair boasts the brand’s “auto-curl technology,” which makes hair curling so effortless. The secret is the tourmaline ceramic curler that holds, times, and heats every hair strand in every direction for a perfect curl each and every time. With this technology, you can style a head of natural hair within minutes. It will take practice, of course. No matter the hair length or hair type, the Infiniti Pro allows you to achieve flawless, beautiful curls.

I love how durable the Infiniti Pro feels. It’s lightweight but it never feels cheap. I do understand why some people are wary of using a curler with this chamber like design instead of the standard wand. No one wants to rip his or her tresses by accident with this thing! But don’t worry, the brushless motor curls the hair with zero tangles. In my experience, the styling was easy and effortless with this automatic hair curler, it’s pretty straightforward. The curler also rotates in different directions.

This device works the same way as the MiraCurl, just “feed” a hair section into the curling chamber and the Infiniti Pro will do the rest. The pair of ceramic-tourmaline heaters apply consistent and gentle heat in all directions so every hair section comes out perfectly curled and super shiny.

Automatic hair curlers with ceramic-tourmaline heaters are my favorite. I never worry about accidentally frying my locks or scalding my head with these products. The Infiniti Pro is very gentle on my tresses and my hair always feels silky and hydrated after use. This device also features sound alerts to let you know when the hair is done. How’s that for convenience? 

Cleaning your hair curlers is a part of maintaining t and the Infiniti Pro makes maintenance as easy as the curling. It has its own chamber cleaning tool to keep your Infiniti Pro free of hair, dust, and traces of products, extending the life of your hair curler!

We liked

  • Ionic technology
  • 2 heat settings
  • 6 timer settings
  • 3 curl directions
  • 3-second Flash Heat Up
  • Sleep mode with sound and light alerts

We didn’t like

  • Also quite a bulky product

3. InStyler MAX 2-Way Rotating Tourmaline Ceramic Straightener and Styler

InStyler 2-Way Rotating Tourmaline Ceramic Straightener & Styler
$99.99
  • 2-Way Rotating Barrel
  • Tourmaline Ceramic Smoothing Plate
  • 3-in Tool: Curl, Flip, or Straighten the Hair
Buy from Amazon Buy from
10/21/2020 10:03 pm UTC

I love a good product that gives me maximum results with minimal effort. That’s why I have a soft spot for the InStyler Max 2-Way despite the model’s bulky design. The InStyler MAX 2-Way is, as the name implies, a 2-way hot tool that straightens and curls the hair. According to its Amazon listing, this product promises to provide maximum, salon-worthy finish with minimal effort. Seriously, what’s not to like?

The secret to InStyler Max 2-Way’s lustrous finish is the combination of the rounded rotating tourmaline-ceramic barrel and ionic bristles. The tourmaline ceramic barrel delivers even, consistent heat while the ionic bristles restore hair shine and luster! Just wrap a hair section on the barrel, set the hair in place with the ionic bristles and the InStyler Max 2-Way will take care of the rest!

The InStyler Max 2-Way comes in 1 inch and 1.25 inch round barrel, a barrel size for all hair types! The design does take a while to get used to but once you get the hang of it, you will love how fast and easy styling gets with this product.

If your hair is prone to damage, frizz, or dullness, this product is the best hot tool to get. I honestly don’t need the added body because my hair is quite thick but if you have thin or fine hair, you will love the beautiful curls you get from this device. I love the floating design of the heated plates; the close contact between the tourmaline ceramic surface and the tresses ensures efficient curling or straightening with every pass.  

The InStyler Max 2-Way offers 4 heat settings: 285°F, 315°F, 385°F, and 425°F. It will work on all hair types but I feel that this is best suited for anyone with medium density tresses to thick, coarse hair. Other features I love about the InStyler Max 2-Way include the automatic shut off feature and the 30-second rapid heat up setting.

The only drawback I noticed is that as I hold the handle, I feel a slight strain in the wrist. The thick handle could be challenging to hold for anyone with small hands. Some Amazon users agree. Again, there is a learning curve but once you get used to it, the InStyler Max 2-Way will be your go-to hair curler/straightener! It’s a little pricey for a hair curler but if you’re tired of your dull, lackluster tresses then the InStyler Max 2-Way is worth the purchase.

We liked

  • 4 Heat Settings
  • 30 Second Rapid Heat Up
  • Automatic Shut Off button
  • Ionic technology
  • Precision-aligned bristles
  • Maximum speed and styling efficiency

We didn’t like

  • Handle is thick
  • Not user-friendly

4. CHI Air Spin N Curl

CHI Spin N Curl in Onyx Black
$72.76
  • Snag-free automatic curling chamber
  • Multi-directional controls
  • Preset temperature settings
Buy from Amazon Buy from
10/21/2020 02:00 pm UTC

Yes, the design of the CHI Air Spin N' Curl model is out of the ordinary but let me tell you, this product is so good when it comes to creating the perfect salon spiral curls! And the truth is that the device is surprisingly easy to use.

Just like the other hot tools in our list, the Chi Air Spin N’ Curl “catches” a hair section in its curling chamber where the tresses are gently heated and curled to perfection. The entire process of curling the hair is so precise and perfectly timed so you get frizz free, beautiful curls every single time. 

And if you’re worried about tangles, don’t. Thanks to its ceramic curling barrel, this product has a smooth and silky surface so you’ll get only the smoothest curling experience. According to reviews, the Chi Air Spin N’ Curl will also beep to warn you if a hair section didn’t slip out smoothly. This curler is gentle enough for daily use but don’t skip the hair protecting serum just yet. 

If you are batty about the temperature of the curler just like yours truly, rest easy because the Chi Air Spin N’ Curl has adjustable temperature settings as well as a range of pre-set temperature settings for every hair texture. That’s right, you get customized styling experience with the Chi Air Spin N’ Curl, something that not a lot of hot tools offer. Although the Chi Air Spin N’ Curl is best for creating well-defined curls, you could also create relaxed waves with it by curling a large section of hair.

Overall, the Chi Air Spin N’ Curl is a terrific contender in our top 7 list of automatic curling irons. My only gripe is that the design of the product itself is limiting. Because the curling chamber is wide, the Chi Air Spin N’ Curl is best suited for people with long hair. If you have shoulder-length hair, you have to work your hair into smaller sections to get the best results.

We liked

  • Ceramic heat technology
  • Far-infrared heat technology
  • 3-temperature setting (low, medium, high)
  • Tangle protection feature
  • Digital temperature display
  • Automatic shut off feature
  •  Dual voltage

We didn’t like

  • Not suitable for medium to short hair length

5. Kiss Instawave

KISS Instawave Automatic Ceramic Curling Iron
$40.99
  • Fully automatic curling action
  • Patented multi-directional curling dial
  • Ceramic ionic technology
Buy from Amazon Buy from
10/21/2020 09:00 pm UTC

I love Kiss Instawave and of all the hot tools that the brand offers, I use Instawave the most. The Instawave is an automatic curling iron with a rotating ceramic barrel. This product features a pointed base that helps set your locks in place as you curl. Called the “Curl Dial,” this feature detangles the hair strands so the curls and waves stay smooth and uniform.

Using the Kiss Instawave is simple because it works just like any curling wand. Wrap a hair section on the ceramic barrel and leave the curler to do the rest. Within a few minutes, the hair comes out perfectly curled. The device will give a beep when the hair is ready to be released, which is cool if you’re using a hair curler for the first time and you’ve no idea how long it takes to curl each hair section.

The Kiss InstaWave has two heat settings, low and high. This product is suitable for most hair types but I’d say this is best for people with long, thick hair. With this curler, styling only takes 7 to 10 minutes once you’ve learned how to use it.

The InstaWave is a terrific choice for anyone who’s on a hunt for a quality automatic curling iron but according to reviews, there are some drawbacks that you should keep in mind. First is the weight, this is a chunky curler and it’s heftier than most hair curlers. Second is the kind of curls and waves you get from this product, the curls are quite relaxed. This means you have to apply a setting spray immediately after curling your hair otherwise, the curls won’t last long.

We liked

  • Ionic technology for frizz-free results
  • Tangle-free ceramic spinner
  • Curl direction control
  • 90-Minute Automatic Shutoff Feature
  • User-friendly

We didn’t like

  • Only 2 heat settings
  • Not ideal for all hair types

6. Ocaliss Auto Wavy Curling Iron

OCALISS Automatic Curling Iron
$39.99
  • Fully automatic curling action
  • Customisable styling
  • Multi-directional automatic roller
Buy from Amazon Buy from
10/21/2020 10:02 pm UTC

The Ocaliss Auto Wavy Curling Iron is quite similar in design with the Kiss InstaWave but it’s slimmer and more travel-friendly. This automatic curling iron features a de-tangling dial at the base to ensure smooth, tangle-free styling. It’s a great feature to have, that’s for sure. The 1 inch tourmaline-ceramic barrel has a smooth surface for curling so there is absolutely no need to worry about tangles when using the Ocaliss Auto Wavy Curling iron.

This curler comes with dual direction rotation with just a press of a button. With this product, you can customize the way you style your hair, which makes styling easier during busy days. This curler comes with 3 heat settings ranging from 260 degrees to 420 degrees Fahrenheit. The large LCD lets you control and check the temperature to prevent burning. The device could reach its maximum temperature in 30 seconds but the heat resistant PPS plastic ensures that the handle remains cool to the touch. An auto-shutoff feature and anti-scald technology make the Ocaliss Auto Wavy Curling iron so safe to use during and after styling.

I might’ve mentioned this a million times but I would always choose a curler with tourmaline-ceramic barrel over other material just because it’s so gentle on the tresses. The tourmaline-ceramic glazed barrel of the Ocaliss Auto Wavy Curling iron gives you long-lasting curls sans heat damage, frizz, and dullness. You get lustrous salon curls and waves that last all day and the hair always feels silky soft. I won’t skip on the heat-protective serum, however.

Don’t let the Ocaliss Auto Wavy Curling iron’s funky design fool you, it’s user-friendly! However, I won’t purchase this product if you have short to medium-length tresses. This is the kind of hair curler that works best for people with long hair because of the design and the size of the barrel.

We liked

  • Ionic technology for frizz-free results
  • Variable heat settings
  • Digital LCD display
  • Anti-Scald Safety Feature
  • PTC heaters
  • Auto-Shutoff feature

We didn’t like

  • Not ideal for all hair types
  • Not suitable for thin hair

7. Vivid & Vogue Wand

Rounding up our list of the best automatic curling iron tools to get is the No products found.. If you’re the kind who’s not getting the curls you need from traditional curling wands then I highly suggest giving the Vivid & Vogue Wand a whirl! This professional-grade hair curler comes with a detangling dial at the base that automatically catches and sets each hair section in place as you curl your hair. Its compact and slim design makes it suitable for people with short and long hair alike.

If you are tired of creating the same old look, you will love the versatility that the Vivid & Vogue Wandoffers. With this product, you could create loose curls, tousled tresses or defined, tight curls and waves without thermal damage. Any curls you like, really.

The design may look intimidating at first but this product is so simple to use. With just a press of a button, you can control the direction of the rotating barrel (left to right). The Vivid & Vogue Wand has 3 temperature options (ranging from 260 to 400 degrees) and you could adjust the temperature setting with just a push of a button. The barrel heats up quickly thanks to its dual PTC heater core. The diamond ceramic glazed barrel delivers even, gentle heat, styling your hair effortlessly sans the damage and frizz.

The ceramic material produces negative ions that smoothen hair cuticles so you get silky and lustrous curls that last. And the unique design minimizes burning too. If you’re curling your hair for the first time or if you are constantly burning your fingers by accident with your old curler, the Vivid & Vogue Wand is definitely a welcome change. Its anti-scald technology is so effective, you can curl your hair with the Vivid & Vogue Wand without using a heat-protective glove.

Overall, the Vivid & Vogue Wand is lightweight, easy to use, and it create curls gently with zero strain on the wrist or arms. It’s easy to use, just leave the curler to do all the styling for you. The quality is impressive too! The only caveat I could think of is that this curler is best for people with shoulder-length to long hair.

We liked

  • Ceramic curling material
  • Ionic technology
  • Anti-scald feature, no heat-resistant glove needed
  • Automatic curling action
  • Lightweight and compact
  • Affordable

We didn’t like

  • No temperature indicator
  • Non-adjustable temperature

Automatic Curling Iron: Buying Guide & FAQs

What Is an Automatic Curling Iron?

An automatic curling iron features a rotating barrel that hold and twist a hair section automatically for creating curls. This product is often self-rotating and the barrel usually spins left to right or vice versa. Because an automatic curling iron curls the hair automatically, it’s more convenient to use. It’s a step up from your average curler with a static barrel so an automatic hair curler usually comes with a set of cool features including timers, auto-shutoff features, multiple heat settings, and so on. Of course, if you don’t want any of these features, you have the option to get a basic curling wand.

Which is Better: Automatic Curling Iron vs. Traditional Curling Iron

Although an automatic curler and a traditional curling iron looks identical, these are two very different devices. But if you are in the market for a hair curler, which option suits your needs the best? Hair tools are by no means cheap that’s why arming yourself with information is key to making the right choice. If you’re wondering how each of these products compares with each other, read on.

Styling Time

How long does it take to curl your hair using a traditional curling iron? That will depend on your styling skills but generally, it takes about 20 minutes or so. On the other hand, an automatic curling iron could curl a full head within 10 minutes. If you have all the time in the world to curl your hair then the obvious option is the traditional curling iron. But if you are always in a rush, choose an automatic curler, one that rotates left to right or vice versa, because it does most of the work for you. Also, get one that heats up quickly. That way, there’s no downtime between drying and styling your tresses in the mornings.

Heat Settings

Traditional and automatic curling products come with a range of heat settings to choose from. The variable heat settings are important especially if your hair is delicate or fine. The last thing you want is to burn your tresses from the harsh heat! I do find that automatic hair curlers come with defined temperature settings so you could adjust the temperature according to your hair type and avoid heat damage. If you want the option to adjust the heat settings according to your styling needs (who doesn?) then opt for a device that comes with a lot of heat settings.

Auto-Shutoff Timer

Safety is important when using any type of electric devices – especially automatic hair curlers that you use almost daily. And if you style your hair regularly as I do, you might’ve experienced rushing back home to double-check if you turned off your curler. I love products that come with a variety of safety features because I get peace of mind knowing that the devices would turn itself off even if you leave it on. This feature is perfect for absentminded peeps like yours truly! Virtually all automatic curling irons come with an auto-shutoff feature and a timer so no nasty surprises there. 

There are a lot of standard automatic hair curlers that come with auto-shutoff feature but the most basic ones lack this option. I feel that the auto shut off timer should be a standard feature in all types of curlers, automatic or otherwise, for safety reasons.

Conclusion: The Best Automatic Curling Iron Tools

Whether you prefer wavy curls, loose curls, tight curls and waves etc., these are highly rated automatic curling iron tools that are worth the purchase. You have a lot of choice! Most are ideal for all hair types, even those with short or coarse hair will love them. We’ve tested each product and we could vouch for their quality and ease of use. Of course, some of these automatic hair curlers have a unique design and it will take some time to perfect your technique. But once you get the hang of it and you’re able to hold the curling iron perfectly, you can experiment with different looks using any of these automatic curling irons.

Other Automatic Curling Iron Tools

Last update on 2020-10-21 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API